Thursday, December 27, 2007

Penang Councillors' Term Extended

THE Penang Government has extended the terms of all the 48 municipal councillors until June 30.

State Traffic Management, Information and Communication Committee chairman Datuk Dr Teng Hock Nan (pic) said there would be no changes to the existing line-up when the councillors' terms ended on Dec 31.

The terms of councillors of Penang Municipal Council (MPPP) and Seberang Prai Municipal Council (MPSP) were extended to facilitate completion of existing jobs, he said.

“The extension is in line with a working system introduced by the state government to facilitate administrative work in both councils,” he said.

According to state regulation, the councillors are eligible to serve for one term, and their terms can be extended to a maximum of four consecutive years.

“All the current councillors have not served that long,” he said.

Current MPPP councillors are Aziaan Ariffin, Mohamed Sabri Ali Anas, Abdul Razak Abdul Rahman, Abu Bakar Ahmad, Fadzil Shuib, Mohd Salim Abdul Bari, Datuk Jamilah Wahab, Noor Hayati Fitrah Shahril, Hamzah Ismail, Tan Yok Cheng, Loh Chye Teik, and Ooi Siaw Kok, Teh Cheng Beh, N.C Mahalingam, M. Nganana Sagaran, Goh Tian Huat, Lim Kean Guan, Teh Leong Meng, Foong Kai Choong, Tan Yeow Hong, Khaw Veon Szu, Dr. Thor Teong Gee, Azizi Zakaria and Hassan Saad.

MPSP councillors are Huzair Osman, Mohd. Noor Ahmad, Ibrahim Ismail, Ismail Umar, Mohamed Sani Bakar, Zaidi Mohd Said, Che Hussain Abdul Rahim, Shafie Kassim, Jumabi Mohamad, Siti Sarah Md. Ani, Ong Tang Chuan, Teh Lay Chuan, Lau Pek Hang, L. Krishnan, Datuk J Loga Bala Mohan, Ooi Liang Chye, Beh Kim Hee, A. Mohan, Wong Heon Thong, Dr. Lim Boon Han, Phee Boon Choon, Mokhtar Mohd Jait and Jusni Ismail.

No comments: